UX bootcamps
in 2026,
compared
The UX bootcamp market has changed fast. Some of the best-known names have closed or stopped running UX bootcamps, and most full bootcamps still enrolling list prices between €4,250 and $8,499. This guide compares what is still open as of October 2026, what each option is good for, and where our own program, Element Education, fits. We run one of these programs, so we have tried to be fair about when a bootcamp suits you better.
- Written by
- Nick McInnis
- Checked
- Oct 24, 2026
- Reading time
- 6 min
- Options
- 8
What closed, and what changed
- 01
CareerFoundry
Its website now says CareerFoundry is ceasing operations.
- 02
BrainStation
No longer lists a UX design bootcamp. Its design offering is now an 8-week, part-time AI Product Design Certification, and Toronto is the only Canadian city it lists.
- 03
General Assembly
Still has a UX design bootcamp page, but it shows no price and no start dates.
None of the programs compared below is run from Canada. All of them can be taken online, and BrainStation's certification can also be taken in person in Toronto.
Which one fits you
- 01
You want a career change with job-search support
A full bootcamp such as Designlab UX Academy or Springboard gives you months of structured UX training, a mentor and career coaching. Designlab also reimburses tuition if you do not land a qualifying design role within six months, on its stated conditions.
- 02
You want a recognised credential
UX Design Institute's diploma is university credit-rated. Google's UX Design Certificate is a widely known, low-cost starting point.
- 03
You want to start on a small budget
Google's certificate on Coursera costs US$49 a month and takes about six months at ten hours a week.
- 04
You want to design and launch your own app
Element Education is twelve weeks and US$850. You design one app in Figma, build it with AI and submit it to the App Store. It does not include career coaching or a job guarantee.
How the main options compare
Details as listed on each provider's own website on October 24, 2026. Springboard and Designlab show prices with a plain $ sign; both are US companies. Prices and dates change, so check before you buy.
| Option | Format | Length | Price, as listed | Career support | You finish with |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Element Education | Live remote cohort: weekly workshop, peer review, office hours | 12 weeks, about 10 hours a week | US$850 (CA$1,190), or a payment plan | No career coaching or job guarantee. Lifetime community access | An app submitted to the App Store, a design system, a landing page and a launch plan |
| Springboard UI/UX Design Bootcamp | Online and self-paced, with a 1:1 mentor | 9 months part-time, 15 to 25 hours a week | $7,190 upfront ($8,690 list) | Career coaching for up to 6 months after graduating | Four portfolio projects, including a remote externship |
| Designlab UX Academy | Online lessons with 30 one-to-one mentor sessions | 21 weeks full-time or 36 weeks part-time | $8,499 upfront, or $7,999 with its Foundations course credit | Up to 26 career coaching sessions. Tuition reimbursed if no qualifying design role within 6 months, on its conditions | A certificate and three or four capstone projects |
| Ironhack AI-Driven UX/UI Design | Remote classes on European time (GMT+2) | 9 weeks full-time or 24 weeks part-time | €8,000 upfront | 12 months of career services. No job guarantee | A certification, a capstone project and a free industry UX exam |
| UX Design Institute Professional Diploma in UX Design | Online and self-paced, with live support and 1:1 mentoring | 6 months, 6 to 8 hours a week | €4,250, with instalments available | 1:1 support from a careers team | A university credit-rated diploma (20 ECTS credits) |
| BrainStation AI Product Design Certification | Live classes, online or in Toronto, New York or London | 8 weeks part-time: 3 hours of class plus 2 to 4 hours a week | Not listed | None stated | A certification and one cumulative project |
| General Assembly UX Design Bootcamp | Full-time; other details not stated on its page | Not stated | Not listed | Career services and interview prep | A certificate of completion and a UX portfolio |
| Google UX Design Professional Certificate, on Coursera (not a bootcamp) | Self-paced video courses | About 6 months at 10 hours a week | US$49 a month | A job search course is part of the program | A professional certificate and three portfolio projects |
Six questions to ask any UX bootcamp
Is it still enrolling
Several well-known schools have closed or stopped running UX bootcamps. Check for real upcoming start dates before you pay anything.
What you will have at the end
Most bootcamps end in portfolio case studies. Ask whether any of your work ships to real users, because a live product is harder to fake and easier to talk about in an interview.
Who gives you feedback, and how often
Count the mentor sessions and check whether teaching is live or recorded. Thirty mentor calls over five months is a very different experience from a weekly live class.
What the guarantee really says
Read the conditions on any job guarantee or tuition reimbursement. Designlab's, for example, requires you to complete the program and meet its participation requirements.
Hours per week, and for how long
Six to nine months part-time alongside a job is a big commitment. Pick the length and weekly load you can actually keep up.
Whether AI is taught or only mentioned
Most programs now mention AI. Ask what you will actually make with it, and whether you will use it to build anything real.
When a bootcamp is the better choice,
and when Element is
Choose a bootcamp if
- You want months of structured UX training with a mentor
- You want career coaching and help with your job search
- You want a recognised credential or a tuition reimbursement program
- You can commit six to nine months part-time, or study full-time
Choose Element if
- You want to design and launch a real app, not only portfolio case studies
- You want to build with AI as well as design, with no engineering background
- You want a live workshop every Tuesday and a partner reviewing your work every Friday
- You want twelve weeks at about ten hours a week, for US$850
- You do not need career coaching or a job guarantee
Questions, answered straight
Are UX bootcamps still worth it in 2026
They can be, if you want months of structured training and career support and can commit several thousand dollars and six to nine months. Check that the school is still enrolling, read any guarantee carefully, and compare what you will actually have at the end.
Is BrainStation's UX bootcamp still running
BrainStation no longer lists a UX design bootcamp. As of October 2026 its design offering is an 8-week, part-time AI Product Design Certification, taken live online or in person in Toronto, New York or London.
Which UX bootcamps can I take from Canada
None of the programs compared here is run from Canada. Springboard, Designlab, Ironhack, UX Design Institute and Google's certificate are all online, and BrainStation's AI Product Design Certification can be taken in person in Toronto.
How much does Element Education cost
US$850, or CA$1,190, paid in full, or you can use a payment plan. Enrolment is by application, and a free planning session covers the terms.
Will Element get me a UX job
No honest program can promise that, and Element does not offer career coaching or a job guarantee. What you leave with is a launched app you designed and built yourself, which gives you something real to show and talk about.